Congressman Dan Kildee on Bipartisan Amendment on Flint Aid


Wednesday, September 28, 2016

Contact: Jennifer Cox, 202-225-3611,

Statement by Congressman Dan Kildee on Bipartisan Amendment on Flint Aid

 Congressman Dan Kildee issued the following statement after the bipartisan Kildee-Moolenaar Amendment to H.R. 5303 the Water Resources Development Act was made in order, which would provide $170 million dollars in federal aid to Flint:

 “I commend the bipartisan agreement we reached to bring much-needed Flint aid up for a vote in the House. Today’s vote is a step forward to ensuring that Flint families get the resources they need to recover from this crisis. The people of my hometown have waited over two years for their government to help them in their time of need. We will continue to fight until Flint aid reaches the President’s desk.”

Voting rights laws are moving dangerously backward

By: U.S. Rep. Rick Larsen, D-Everett

EXPANDED access to health care, new education programs for our youngest citizens, landmark protections at the ballot box: The wave of civil-rights laws that Congress passed 50 years ago broke down barriers for millions of people in our country to more fully participate in their communities and our democracy. These laws — Medicare and Medicaid, Head Start and the Voting Rights Act, respectively — remain at the heart of our country’s commitment to opportunity today.

But some barriers still stand. In fact, some of the basic rights people fought so hard to secure are diminishing. Two years ago, the Supreme Court struck down the core of the Voting Rights Act, Section 4. States and localities with a history of discrimination against minority voters no longer have to clear election changes, such as consolidated voting locations or voting registration options, with the U.S. Department of Justice. Because of Congress’ failure to fix this gaping hole in our country’s voting rights laws, partisan legislatures nationwide have passed restrictive voting laws that disenfranchise citizens and undermine our country’s democracy. Read more

Congresswoman Nancy Pelosi (D-CA)

Congressman James E. Clyburn (D-SC)

Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)

Congressman André Carson (D-IN)

Congressman Matt Cartwright (D-PA)

Congresswoman Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-NM)

Congressman Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY)

Congresswoman Barbara Lee (D-CA)